School of Theology Alumni

DuBose Awards

The DuBose Awards, at one time known as the Faithful Alum Award and the DuBose Award for Service, have been restructured to broaden the award categories and invite nominations from across the Church. The awards celebrate the ministries of both laypersons and clergy. Nominations are received from October to end of May the following year and the recipient(s) will be announced during the annual DuBose Alumni Gathering banquet. You may submit a nomination using the form below.


In order to submit a nomination, the nominee must either be:

  • an ordained member of the Episcopal clergy
  • a layperson who is a communicant in good standing of an Episcopal congregation

Award Categories

Note: One award per category will be given per year.

  • DuBose Award for Congregational Development: Candidates will have started a new mission or increased membership in existing parish.
  • DuBose Award for Social Justice: Candidates will have made a significant difference in transforming unjust structures and promoted peace and reconciliation in their community.
  • DuBose Award for Care of Creation: Candidates will have demonstrated commitment to the physical environment by utilizing parish resources to sustain and renew the life of the earth.
  • DuBose Award for Service: Candidates will have exhibited distinguished service to The Episcopal Church, the Anglican Communion, or the church ecumenical on behalf thereof.

The DuBose Award Committee will review submissions and choose awardees. Awardee(s) will be notified in August.

Questions may be directed to Sukey Byerly, by email or phone, 931.598.1217.



Alumni Council

The following alumni serve as class stewards on the School of Theology Alumni Council. Note the class years they represent and feel free to contact them.

Class Years 1944–1965

The Rev. W. Gedge Gayle Jr., T’63, T’76

Class Years 1966–1970

The Rev. Richard Bridgford, T’68

Class Years 1971–1975

The Rev. Peter Casparian, T’74

Class Years 1976–1980

The Rev. Robert Park Morpeth, T’78

Class Years 1981–1985

The Rev. Dr. Rufus Stanley Runnels, T’83, T’12

Class Years 1986–1990

The Rev. Randolph Harrison West, T’90

Class Years 1991–1995

The Rev. Dr. Susan Bear, T’94, T’07

Class Years 1996–2000

The Rev. Danny Schieffler, T’99

Class Years 2001–2003

The Rev. Vicki T. Burgess, T’03, P’16

Class Years 2004–2005

The Rev. Kirkland “Skully” Knight, T’04

Class Years 2006–2008

The Rev. Dr. Gary Butterworth, T’08, T’13

Class Years 2009–2010

The Rev. Dr. Catherine Hudson Collier, T’09

Class Years 2011–2014

The Rev. Abi White Moon, C’87, T’11

Class Years 2015-2017

The Rev. Michael Thomas McCain, T’16

Click here to see a report on current theology alumni giving by class year.

Fill out my online form.