Kennedy Endowed Faculty Fellowship

Established in 2001 by the Kennedy Foundation of Chattanooga, the Kennedy Fellowship is intended to assist with supporting talented early-career faculty in the College during the formative years of their Sewanee career.

The Fellowship provides $13,000 over three years to support research or professional development opportunities. Funds may be used for such things as books, travel expenses to conferences, research expenses, and computer software and hardware. The Dean of the College has final discretion as to the appropriate use of these funds.

Faculty members scheduled for a second or fourth year review are eligible to apply. To be considered for the Kennedy Fellowship, a faculty member must include, among the other materials required for their review, a separate sheet with a brief (one page or less) explanation of how they would use the award. The Promotion and Tenure Committee will advise the Dean on selecting a fellowship winner.

Kennedy Fellows

2017-2019   Emmanuel Asiedu-Acquah, Assistant Professor of International and Global Studies
2017-2019   César Leal, Assistant Professor of Music
2016-2018   Elise A. Kikis, Assistant Professor of Biology
2016-2018   Matthew D. Mitchell, Assistant Professor of History
2015-2017   Courtney B. World, Assistant Professor of Theatre and Dance
2014-2016   Mila Dragojevic, Assistant Professor of Politics
2013-2015   Jessica A. Siegel, Assistant Professor of Psychology
2012-2014   Matthew B. Rudd, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
2011-2013   Nicholas E. Roberts, Assistant Professor History
2010-2012   Andrea C. Hatcher, Assistant Professor of Political Science
2009-2011   Elizabeth A. Skomp, Assistant Professor of Russian and Russian Studies
2008-2010   Kirk S. Zigler, Assistant Professor of Biology
2007-2009   Donna Murdock, Assistant Professor of Anthropology
2006-2008   Elizabeth Outka, Assistant Professor of English
2005-2007   Greg Pond, Assistant Professor of Art and Art History