Department and program chairs typically rotate on a five year basis. 

Chairs of departments play significant roles in:

  • The promotion and tenure process
  • The development of annual budgets
  • Organizing the annual schedule of courses
  • Staffing
  • All other leadership roles in departments

Chairs and Directors meet several times a year as a group chaired by the Dean of the College.

Department Chairs & Academic Program Directors 2017 - 2018

American Studies Woody Register
Anthropology Richard Allan O'Connor
Art, Art History, & Visual Studies Jeffrey Thompson
Asian Studies Scott Howard Wilson
Biochemistry Bethel Sharma Seballos
Biology Kirk S. Zigler
Business Minor Katherine C. Theyson
Advent 2017: Richard G. Summers
Easter 2018: Deon T. Miles
Classics Daniel Stephen Holmes
Computer Science Stephen P. Carl 
Economics  Marc St-Pierre 
English  Jennifer D. Michael 
Earth & Environmental Systems           C. Ken Smith & Sarah C. Sherwood 
French & French Studies Aymeric Glacet
German & German Studies Liesl Allingham 
History  Woody Register 
Integrated Program in the Environment           C. Ken Smith
Interdisciplinary Humanities Jeffrey Thompson
International & Global Studies                Nicholas E. Roberts 
Italian  Stephen B. Raulston 
Mathematics  Matthew Rudd 
Medieval Studies  Matthew W. Irvin 
Music  Stephen Miller 
Neuroscience Minor Brandy N. Tiernan
Philosophy  James R. Peters 
Physics & Astronomy  Benito T. Szapiro
Politics  Andrea C. Hatcher 
Psychology  C. Albert Bardi 
Religious Studies  Sid Brown 
Russian  Mark Preslar 
Spanish  Stephen B. Raulston 
Teacher Education  Merle "Mae" Wallace 
Theatre & Dance Jennifer Matthews
Women & Gender Studies  Andrea Mansker